A Chat with The Biochemical Dancer.

 

img_20160111_145854.jpg

Hello beautiful! Can we meet you?

I’m Onyinyechi Alexandra Maduagwu, a Biochemistry finalist cum dancer in the University of Nigeria, Nsukka.

When did you discover how much you loved to dance?

That was in junior secondary school. Prior to that time, I couldn’t dance to save my life *chuckles*

What does dance mean to you?

Life. It literally keeps my body alive.

Which dancers inspire you?

Kaffy, Willdabeast and Janelle Ginestra.

What’s your favorite TV show?

TV show!..err I don’t really watch TV.

Do you also dance at your leisure?

No, I go on social media sites so as to keep up with trends and all.

What social media sites are you most active on and how can one find you page?

Instagram and twitter. My handle is @reddancerchick for both sites.

Any celebrity crush?

Currently obsessing over Artist and Model “Toni Mahfud.”

Do you dance in a group?

Yes, I belong with ‘Thrillaz Dance Crew’ here in UNN and I do solo acts as well.

During the last K-pop competition, you were spotted rocking your TWA, what’s your take in the natural hair revolutionary?

I think it’s amazing and I love that African women are beginning to love the hair that grows outta their head and to understand what being truly African should represent.

Seeing that you’re a busy finalist in school and a dedicated dancer, how do you find the time to care for your hair?

When i’m not rocking a wash and go, I have a protective style on. Also I pay regular visits to afrizinynaturals and kinkychicks on instagram except that the latter doesn’t provide step wise instructions for one to follow.

So far, what’s been your most embarrassing moments?

The day I had to do a high jump in secondary school with no undies on. Worst day ever *covers face* It wasn’t a unisex school after all.

What are the three things your close friends don’t know about you?

  • I love the pain that comes with a good workout (makes me feel like I really did something)
  • When I don’t know a person’s name and I have to greet, I just throw compliments “hey! You look great!”
  • I’m terrible at remembering dates, the absolute worst.

If you had a soundtrack to your life, what song(s) would have to be on it?

“Unwritten” by Natasha Beddingfield. That’s all I’ve got for now.

Do you have a word or two for someone who wants to start dancing?

Dance is not difficult at all and like every other thing, it just takes practice. Keep at it and you’ll be fine.

Happy birthday Alex, thank you for your time!

Thanks for having me, I’m honoured.

 

 

Leave a Reply

